The United States Golf Association (USGA) recently announced sectional qualifying sites for the 74th U.S. Women’s Open Championship, which will be contested May 30-June 2 at the Country Club of Charleston in Charleston, S.C.

The competition will be held in Kingwood Wednesday, May 8, at The Clubs of Kingwood Island course.

Conducted over 36 holes, sectional qualifying will be held at 25 courses, including four international sites, between April 22 and May 8. The championship is open to female professionals and amateurs with a Handicap Index not exceeding 2.4. Online entry applications are available now and will continue through Wednesday, April 17, at 5 p.m. EDT at

- Sectional qualifying sites include The Clubs of Kingwood -

The U.S. Women’s Open is a walking-only, 72-hole stroke-play competition over four consecutive days. There will be a 36-hole cut including the top 50 players and ties.

Considered the world’s premier women’s golf championship, the U.S. Women’s Open is one of 14 national championships conducted annually by the USGA. The championship began in 1946 and its winners include Babe Didrikson Zaharias, Betsy Rawls, Mickey Wright, Hollis Stacy, Amy Alcott, Meg Mallon, Annika Sorenstam, Se Ri Pak, Juli Inkster, Cristie Kerr, Paula Creamer, Inbee Park and Michelle Wie.

For more information, visit

Comments (0)

There are no comments posted here yet

Leave your comments

  1. Posting comment as a guest. Sign up or login to your account.
Attachments (0 / 3)
Share Your Location