It was classic Ted Poe. The revered 2nd District congressman, who retires in January, accepted the Lake Houston Chamber’s Inaugural Spirit of Commerce Award during the chamber’s annual Elected Officials Breakfast Reception on Dec. 11 at the Golf Club of Houston.

But Poe wasn’t at the Golf Club of Houston.

“I’m in D.C. today, doing the public’s work and voting,” Poe told reception attendees via video. “This is a special honor because I have always supported mainstream business. Here in Texas, we believe in individual liberty and economic liberty. I have been honored to be your voice and thank you for trusting me to be your advocate.”

Kim Brode, Poe’s longtime field rep, accepted the award for the congressman.

Lake Houston Chamber Public Affairs Chair Terry Vaughn, at the podium, introduces elected officials attending the chamber’s annual Elected Officials Breakfast at the Golf Club of Houston. Photos by Tom Broad

The Lake Houston Chamber presents the Spirit of Commerce Award to an elected official who “… supports pro-growth, pro-business legislation and initiatives impacting Main Street businesses and enhancing the local economy,” said Terry Vaughn in presenting the award to Poe. Vaughn is the chamber’s public affairs chair.

“For our first year, we set out to honor someone who would set the bar high for years to come, so we naturally voted unanimously to honor Congressman Poe,” said Vaughn. “While Judge Poe likely will be remembered for his leadership roles advocating on behalf of victims and children, his pro-business record also should be lauded.”

Vaughn praised Poe as a valuable ally to the chamber and the business community, supporting measures to stimulate job creation and spur economic growth.

Several newly-elected county officials attended the chamber’s Elected Officials Breakfast at the Golf Club of Houston including, from left, Dr. Diane Trautman, Harris County Clerk-Elect; Adrian Garcia, Harris County Precinct 2 Commissioner-Elect; and Marilyn Burgess, Harris County District Clerk-Elect.

“He co-founded and co-chaired the bi-partisan Congressional Ports Caucus which promotes the impact of our nation’s ports on the economy, supporting the reauthorization of the Export-Import Bank, and co-sponsored legislation to level the playing field between online retailers and Main Street businesses.,” Vaugh said.

Joe Paulo, president and CEO of Radio Station KSJB, prayed over the public servants that “… they receive wisdom and open them to reason, impartiality and sincerity.”

Prior to the awards ceremony and presentation of the elected officials, John Flournoy, director of sales and leasing for McCord Development, the reception’s presenting sponsor, touted McCord as the second largest private landowner in Harris County, thanks to the 4,000 acres it is developing into Generation Park.

Harris County Precinct 4 Commissioner Jack Cagle (center) greeted Dr. Haden McKay Citizen of the Year Jess Fields (left) and Jess Fields Jr.

Flournoy thanked the elected officials attending the reception.

“Our elected officials make Lake Houston a better place to live for all of us,” Flournoy said.

Poe ended his video comments in classic Ted Poe style, “… and that’s just the way it is.”

Elected officials who attended the reception were: Matthew Conner representing U.S. Senator John Cornyn; Heather Washburn representing Congressman Kevin Brady; Kim Brode representing Congressman Ted Poe; Christie Siedhoff representing State Sen. Brandon Creighton; Janet Huberty representing State Rep. Dan Huberty; Ron Service representing Harris County Judge Ed Emmett; Adrian Garcia, Harris County Precinct 2 Commissioner-Elect; Jack Cagle, Harris County Precinct 4 Commissioner; Gretchen Knowles representing Harris County Precinct 2 Commissioner Jack Morman; Dr. Diane Trautman, Harris County Clerk-Elect; Chris Daniel, Harris County District Clerk; Marilyn Burgess, Harris County District Clerk-Elect; Harris County Precinct 4 Place 1 Justice of the Peace Lincoln Goodwin; Harris County Precinct 4 Place 2 Justice of the Peace Laryssa Korduba; Harris Cunty Precinct 4 Constable Mark Herman; Houston District E City Council Member Dave Martin; City of Humble Mayor Merle Aaron; City of Humble Council Member Norman Funderburk; Humble ISD Trustee Colin Carney; Humble ISD Trustee Angela Conrad; Humble ISD Trustee Nancy Morrison; and Humble ISD Trustee Robert Sitton.

Terry Vaughn (left), chair of the Lake Houston Chamber’s Public Affairs Committee, welcomes Erica Johnston, program chair of the Chamber’s Leadership Lake Houston Committee, and Kent Clingerman, community aide for Harris County Precinct 4 Commissioner Jack Cagle.

The Lake Houston Chamber will celebrate its 95th anniversary during the Annual Awards Extravaganza Jan. 25 at The Overlook in Atascocita. New Board Chair Sam Schrade and 2019 directors will be installed. Jess Fields will be honored as the Dr. Haden McKay Citizen of the Year. Recipients of the Spirit of the Chamber, Rising Star and Chairman’s awards will be revealed. For more information or to make a reservation, visit or call 281-446-2128.

Tom Broad
Author: Tom BroadEmail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Besides being a proud graduate of The University of Nebraska-Lincoln and, therefore, a Cornhusker, I am retired from Memorial Hermann. I am a correspondent and columnist for Lake Houston's hometown paper, The Tribune, as well as a director of the Lake Houston Redevelopment Corporation, a member of the board of the Humble Area Assistance Ministries, and Volunteer Extraordinaire for the Lake Houston Area Chamber.

Comments (0)

There are no comments posted here yet

Leave your comments

  1. Posting comment as a guest. Sign up or login to your account.
Attachments (0 / 3)
Share Your Location