The dust has settled on the midterm elections, bringing big political changes to some areas of Houston and Texas.The race to replace retiring U.S. Rep Ted Poe was closer than expected between Republican Dan Crenshaw and Democrat Todd Litton when early voting totals showed Litton with a slight lead, but it was Crenshaw who ultimately won, defeating Litton for the congressional district 2 seat.

The retired Navy SEAL won 123,652 votes at 53 percent to Litton’s 104,519 votes. Crenshaw has led a relatively quiet campaign with Litton running several ads in the final weeks of the campaign, but the ads were not enough to sway voters in the heavily Republican district.

Harris County

In Harris County, Ed Emmett made his last run as county judge, and it was hardly an easy one with Emmett narrowly losing to Democrat Lina Hidalgo. Emmett, who earned high praise for his work to pass a $2.5 billion flood control bond in August, was an early favorite to win re-election as Harris County Judge. Hidalgo’s win will likely change the dynamic of the county court, adding another Democratic voice to the court.


State Representative Dan Huberty easily won re-election with 44,422 votes or 80.30 percent.

In Precinct 4, Republican Commissioner Jack Cagle won by 54 percent with 185,916 votes to defeat Democrat Penny Shaw.

Lone Star College Board of Trustees

The Lone Star College Board of Trustees will have three new members following the Nov. 6 election. The new members will each serve six-year terms and be officially sworn in during the Dec. 6 Board of Trustees meeting. Representing District 1 will be Michael Stoma, District 2 Ernestine M. Pierce, and District 8 Mike Sullivan. Sullivan is a Kingwood resident. In addition to the new members, Alton Smith, Art Murillo, David Vogt, Myriam Saldívar, Linda Good and Ken Lloyd will continue to serve on the board.

Huffman ISD

Two new candidates and one incumbent won seats on the Huffman ISD Board of Trustees in Positions 1, 2 and 3. Robin Colbert, the current Position 1 Trustee, did not seek re-election. Aaron Alexander will replace Colbert. He reeived 2,466 votes, or 69.13 percent. Jerry Jones, the current Position 2 Trustee, did not seek re-election. Dean Warren won with 2,347 votes, or 58.25 percent. Ray Burt, a retired firefighter, the president of the Huffman ISD Board, and the incumbent for Position 3 Trustee, ran unopposed to be re-elected to his position.

Additional reporting by Cynthia Calvert; this story comes to us from our news partner,

Comments (0)

There are no comments posted here yet

Leave your comments

  1. Posting comment as a guest. Sign up or login to your account.
Attachments (0 / 3)
Share Your Location