The Huffman school board passed a resolution of concern at the January meeting regarding the requirement by the Texas Legislature for the Commission of Education to implement a public-school rating system that would assign A through F grades to schools and school districts.

This rating system is to begin with the 2017-2018 school year. A preliminary rating for each campus and district was released in January.

“Fifty-five percent of the rating system is tied to the STAAR assessment and testing done each year for all students,” Superintendent Dr. Benny Soileau said. “Over 500 districts in the state have passed similar resolutions of concern that the state doesn’t recognize individual student achievement. Public education is under attack and some want to take dollars and transfer them to charter and home school education programs.”

A response to the grading system is posted on the district’s website. The district’s preliminary grades were reported as one C and three Ds. The website posting states that “the system does not accurately represent the quality of schools, staff and students in Huffman ISD. The reduction of our schools to a single letter grade dismisses the unique qualities and gifts of our students … Such systems are not supported by definitive research to show that any rating system by itself improves school performance.”

The board’s resolution “requests a new system to rate campuses and districts that provides a more accurate and valid reflection of how public schools are performing in the state of Texas.”

The board  also honored several students. 

Being named Academic All State team members by the Texas High School Coaches Association were the following Hargrave High School boys football team members: Austin Gee, Austin Greer, David Holley, Mason Murray, Dylan Wilson and Trainer Kayla Lee.  

Retired Capt. David Brown III awarded University of Houston scholarships to JROTC members Michael Kettle, Alex Robles and Carey Warren. Melissa Galar, Laycie Edwards and Tara Floch were also presented as the current Falcon Battalion leadership team.

The school board thanked art teachers Nani Heaslep, Donna Hardin, Bernadette Vital and Bonnie Jackson for their contributions to the developmen t of the district’s fine arts program. The board cited the Houston Livestock and Rodeo Art program, where students can exercise and display their talents. The following students were recognized: The best of show winners were Kelsee Carlile, Kristin Kruger, Reagan Currie and Zachary Schwartz. The gold medal winners were Mario Lopez, Anna Hayden, Katie Ervin, Savannah Dietert and McKenzie Laird.

The board received an update on the completion of the agricultural building and the status of the construction of the new elementary and middle schools, and improvements to the high school. The projects will have construction bids going out this spring.

John Crone
Author: John CroneEmail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
I have written a financial column for an Illinois community paper. I have worked in the financial business for most of my career. I am a CPA and was in charge of the trust and investment department of a community bank. I enjoy working with local businesses and community members to tell our readers about people and events in our area.

Comments (0)

There are no comments posted here yet

Leave your comments

  1. Posting comment as a guest. Sign up or login to your account.
Attachments (0 / 3)
Share Your Location