Kingwood’s first school, Foster Elementary, is celebrating their 45th anniversary this year. Foster Elementary is named after Foster Lumber Company, which owned 14,500 acres of what is now Kingwood. The school’s mascot, a bulldog named Spike, carries a woodsman’s ax as a reminder of the school’s namesake lumber company. Located at 1800 Trailwood Village Drive in Trailwood Village, Foster Elementary was initially slated to be built off of Hamblen Road. When the land was determined to be in a flood zone, new building plans were made for a lot in Trailwood Village. At that time, there were only five homes in Trailwood Village. When the school opened in 1971, it included 6th grade and an optional Kindergarten program.
Today, Foster Elementary serves almost 600 students in grade Pre K-5. On Saturday, Sept. 17 from 10 a.m.–12 noon, Foster Elementary will celebrate this milestone anniversary. Student work will be on display to help tell the story of the rich heritage of Foster Elementary in an open house celebration for students, parents and the community. In the cafeteria, a slideshow featuring historic and current photos will be shown and refreshments will be served. All community members are welcome to join Foster students, parents and staff as they celebrate.