Winners of the Lake Houston Area Chamber’s healthcare professional awards were honored at the Salute to Healthcare presented by Independent Bank, luncheon on Tuesday, July 24 at The Overlook.

Award honorees are individuals whose acts of service represent a display of dedication to excellence in their area of expertise beyond the scope of their jobs. The ideal winner will have displayed a commitment to their profession and community, serving as an inspiration to others in an effort to improve the quality of healthcare and discover new ways to assist those in need.

The winner of the Allied Healthcare Professional of the Year award is Laurie Allen, RPh with Walgreens.

Allen has been a Pharmacist for the Walgreen Company, as well as a member of the Lake Houston Area community since 1994 after graduating with a degree in pharmacy from the University of Louisiana, Monroe. She has served as many roles throughout her career including patient advocate and health care expert implementing highly critical best practices, a partnering mind set, and valuable skills and insights as a primary health care liaison. She has dedicated her career to advancing the practice of pharmacy through training, education, pharmacy management, and multiple leadership activities.


Award Finalists: From left to right-Filling in for Dr. Kimberly Waaso, DO with Kingwood Emergency Hospital is Richard Yount, CEO; Nikki Roux, JD, MBA, RN, CEN, FACHE, NEA-BC, Memorial Hermann Northeast; Amanda Chappell, BSN, RN, Memorial Hermann Northeast; Laurie Allen, RPh, Walgreens; Terry Vaughn, Walgreens; Dr. Polly Heil-Mealey ND, D.PSc, HHP, MEd, CCI, Abundant Health & Wellness Center; Ashley Adair, American Heart Association; and Jaime Bentley, BSN, MBA, RN, Kingwood Medical Center. Photos by Robyn Choiniere.

The winner of the Non-Clinical Healthcare Professional of the Year award is Terry Vaughn, Jr. with Walgreens.

Vaughn is a District Manager of Retail and Pharmacy Operations for Walgreens. With 21 years of experience in retail operations, Vaughn is responsible for 14 stores and over 400 team members. Vaughn served on the Walgreens Advisory Council as one of 50 leaders across the country helping to shape the company’s vision for the future. Vaughn is also the public affairs chair for the Lake Houston Area Chamber of Commerce, and serves on their executive board of directors as treasurer. Vaughn has also served on various committees with the Chamber and has been on the Board of Directors for five years. Vaughn is an active volunteer with the Boy Scouts of America, where he serves as a Scoutmaster and District Rally Chair. Vaughn earned an Associate’s degree from Lonestar College Kingwood in 2009. Vaughn’s accomplishments include 2018 Young Professional of the year finalist, 2015 Rising Star Award, 2015 Walgreens Community Involvement District and Area Award, 2016 Chairman’s Award, and 2016 Top 4 Under 40.

Winners of the Salute to Healthcare Awards: From left to right-Laurie Allen, RPh, Walgreens; Amanda Chappell, BSN, RN with Memorial Hermann Northeast; Terry Vaughn, Walgreens; and Dr. Polly Heil-Mealey ND, D.PSc, HHP, MEd, CCI, Abundant Health & Wellness Center.

The winner of the Nurse of the Year award is Amanda Chappell, BSN, RN with Memorial Hermann Northeast.

As the Manager of Clinical Projects for Memorial Hermann Northeast, Chappell is passionate about supporting the staff that work there and contributing to her community. Through her involvement with the Texas Nurse Association District 9, she has had the opportunity to be elected to serve on the House of Delegates 2017-2020 and have an influence on legislation that impacts the Lake Houston Area community. In 2016 she was nominated as a bronze medalist for the Good Samaritan Foundation’s Excellence in Nursing Awards and was also selected as a recipient of Memorial Hermann’s PROPEL Scholarship.
Throughout her career she has been involved in many volunteer opportunities to share her gift of clinical practice with those who needed it most. Following Hurricane Harvey, she was able to lend a hand at the First Baptist Church of Huffman as evacuees from high water rescues needed acute medical attention and basic needs as she has with previous natural disasters. She has also twice travelled to Guatemala for week-long mission trips to provide nursing care to patients without access to healthcare.
The winner of the Physician of the Year award is Dr. Polly Heil-Mealey, ND, D.PSc, HHP, MEd, CCI with Abundant Health & Wellness Center.
Heil-Mealey is a degreed naturopathic doctor who is also a member of the American Association of Drugless Practitioners. She is also a Diplomat of Pastoral Science with the Pastoral Medical Association. Heil-Mealey studied BioEnergetic medicine at the Academy of International BioEnergetic Sciences in London Ontario, Canada. As former President of the International Iridology Practitioners Association (IIPA), she is an IIPA Certified Iridologist with a Master’s Degree in Education. She has been involved in education and Biblical health care since 1994, and has been active in both television and radio, presenting community service programs covering various topics. An international traveler, she gives seminars on alternative health practices, incorporating iridology, EAV and Biblical nutritional counseling.
The winners and finalists for these awards were selected by a committee of community leaders and business owners that are un-biased towards the healthcare industry.
The Platinum Sponsor for the luncheon is Encompass Health Rehabilitation Hospital of Humble; the Awards Sponsor is Club Pilates Atascocita; the Gold Sponsors are Abundant Health and Wellness Center, NightLight Pediatric Urgent Care, Kindred Rehabilitation Hospital of Humble, Radiant Dermatology and Aesthetics and Urgentcare MD’s. Silver Sponsors are Gustafson Dental and Well Lake Specialty Pharmacy. The Bronze Sponsors are Sterling McCall Honda The Observer Newspapers and Walgreens.
For more information, contact Stefani Kilgore at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or call the Chamber at (281) 446-2128.
### About the Lake Houston Area Chamber of Commerce: The Lake Houston Area Chamber of Commerce is a 501(c)(6) non-profit organization of professional business men and women who have joined together for the purpose of promoting the civic and commercial progress of the Lake Houston Area. The Chamber is the organized voice for the quality of life and business related issues at the local, state and federal level of government and is the front door to our community for tourism and business relocation information. The Lake Houston Area Chamber is comprised of 1,100 members and serves Atascocita, Fall Creek, Humble, Kingwood, Summerwood and portions of East Montgomery County.

Comments (0)

There are no comments posted here yet

Leave your comments

  1. Posting comment as a guest. Sign up or login to your account.
Attachments (0 / 3)
Share Your Location