Local heroes were honored by the Lake Houston Chamber of Commerce at a May 15 luncheon at the Humble Civic Center. Several “Outstanding Peace Officer” awards were given to Harris County Constable’s Office Precinct 4 – Cpl. Michael Lacher and Detective Paul Kowalik; Harris County Sheriff’s Office - Deputy John Garcia; Houston Police Department – Kingwood Division – Bicycle Unit – Sgt. James Pavlu, Officer Roy Jacks, Officer Paul Taylor, Officer David White, Officer Jason MacAllisster, Officer Michael Iwasyk, Officer Alan Morales; Humble ISD Police Department – Officer Shawn Biazar; Humble Police Department – Officer Melissa Simon; Lone Star College – Kingwood – Officer Latyna C. Small; Montgomery County Constable’s Office – Precinct 4 – Deputy Dwayne Morrow. “Firefighter of the Year” awards also were presented to Eastex Fire Department – Firefighter Heather Schwalbach; Humble Fire Department – Firefighter/EMT-P Todd Bailey, Firefighter/EMT-I Dolan Johnson; Northeast Fire and Rescue – Firefighter William Sharp. Awards were also presented to Atascocita Volunteer Fire Department, Houston Fire Department – Kingwood Division, New Caney Fire Department and Porter Fire Department. The award came as a surprise for some honorees. Montgomery County Deputy Dwayne Morrow said, “I was shocked. I had no idea. I was told to come in today in my Class A uniform and that there was somewhere I needed to be at noon.” Morrow is a livestock deputy and may on any given day be involved with alligators, exotic snakes, or loose horses and has appeared on Animal Planet several times. Montgomery County Constable Kenneth Hayden noted Morrow was honored in part because “Dwayne has become a well rounded deputy in all fields, not just First photo: Lake Houston Chamber of Commerce 2012 honorees for Outstanding Peace Officers and Firefighters of the Year. Second photo: Heather Schwalbach, right, daughter of Tribune employee Patsy Oliver, was awarded Firefighter of the Year for Eastex Fire Department, much to her surprise. Also pictured are Kim Brode and Casey Christmas. Third photo: Montgomery County Precinct 4 Constable Kenneth “Rowdy” Hayden, Montgomery County Precinct 4 Peace Officer of the Year Deputy Dwayne Morrow and Montgomery County Chief Deputy Barry Welch.

Comments (0)

There are no comments posted here yet

Leave your comments

  1. Posting comment as a guest. Sign up or login to your account.
Attachments (0 / 3)
Share Your Location