In early June, the Zach Jones Memorial Fund is hosting the “Z” Gala and the “Z” Golf Tournament. The proceeds from these events help fund rabies research and provide scholarships to students from Humble ISD. In 2006, Zach Jones, a sophomore at Humble High School, died of rabies. In memory of Zach, the Jones family and their friends started the Zach Jones Memorial Fund. The nonprofit organization raises funds to assist with rabies awareness, early detection and research into a cure for rabies. This year the fund donated $45,000 toward these goals and reached more than 75,000 people through their Rabies Awareness Project. The “Z” Gala fundraiser will take place on Saturday, June 6, at Walden on Lake Houston Country Club. The festivities include a live and silent auction, dinner, exception for clarity and music by These Guys Here. The gala’ special guest is Jeanna Giese, who is the first person known to have survived rabies, and the emcee is John Lopez from Sports 790 AM. The “Z” Golf Tournament will be held on Monday, June 8, at Walden on Lake Houston Golf and Country Club. The organization also awards scholarships to graduating seniors from the Humble ISD. This year the fund granted $28,000 in scholarships. Five of the recipients received $5,000 each to further their educations after they graduate from high school. The five students are Tami Dallefeld, Atascocita High School, Amanda Scott, Humble High School, Aaron Weldon, Kingwood High School, Sarah Gear, Quest High School, and Blaine Winfield, (HHS). The students were chosen for demonstrating a strong dedication to their studies, athletic participation and volunteering in their community. In addition, the fund awarded three $1,000 Atascocita Fighting Heart Award scholarships, which are given to the football players at Atascocita High School who demonstrate integrity, leadership, outstanding sportsmanship and character, both on and off the football field. The three recipients of the Fighting Heart Award are Marc Pennington, Tony Steadman and Steve Otteman. For more information, go to Photo: The recipients of the Zach Jones Memorial Fund scholarships, from left to right: Steve Otteman, Aaron Weldon, Tony Steadman, Sarah Gear, Tami Dallefeld, Amanda Scott, Blaine Winfield and Marc Pennington.

Comments (0)

There are no comments posted here yet

Leave your comments

  1. Posting comment as a guest. Sign up or login to your account.
Attachments (0 / 3)
Share Your Location